27 Apply for Court of Special Appeals: April 2017

By Brandon Moore

Twenty-seven applicants applied for an at-large seat on the Court of Special Appeals, according to the list made public on Thursday. The seat will become vacant upon the mandatory retirement of Chief Judge Peter B. Krauser, who turns 70 years young on May 5. Eight of the applicants are being considered automatically because the Judicial Appellate Nominating Commission had previously recommended them for the Court.

See the full list of applicants below.

As always, the group is accomplished and includes lawyers from a variety of backgrounds. Seven applicants are sitting judges, including six Circuit Court judges and one administrative law judge. Twelve applicants are applying directly from firms. Two of the applicants are former public defenders. Ten applicants are alums of Maryland Law. Six graduated from Baltimore Law, and two applicants each graduated from Washington and Lee and UVA law schools. Eight of the applicants have clerkship experience – one on the U.S. Circuit Court, one on the U.S. District Court, one on the Court of Appeals, three on the Court of Special Appeals, and two on the Circuit Court.

The applicants also include three members of the Blog’s editorial staff – Steve Klepper (our beloved editor-in-chief), Karen Federman Henry, and Brad McCullough – none of whom contributed to this post.

Honorable Krystal Quinn Alves (Circuit Court for Prince George’s County)

Andrew Howard Baida (Rosenberg Martin Greenberg LLP)

Claudia Adeline Barber (District of Columbia Office of Administrative Hearings)

Reginald Stewart Barroll (Cookerly & Barroll, LLC)

Cathleen Cawley Brockmeyer (Office of Attorney General)

Joseph Edward Carey (Carey Law Office, LLC)

Gardner Mareen Duvall (Whiteford Taylor Preston, LLP)

Honorable Judith Claibourne Ensor (Circuit Court for Baltimore County)

Matthew John Fader (Office of Attorney General)

Kurt James Fischer (Venable LLP)

Nancy Susanne Forster (Forster Johnson & LeCompte)

Karen Louise Federman Henry (Office of Attorney General)

William Hambler Jones (State’s Attorney for Dorchester County)

Brian Scott Kleinbord (Office of State’s Attorney for Montgomery County)

Steven Michael Klepper (Kramon & Graham PA)

Erik Gerrard Light (U.S. Department of Transportation)

Jeremy Mark McCoy (Office of Attorney General)

James Bradford McCullough (Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd)

Michelle Renae Mitchell (Wharton Levin Ehrmantraut & Klein, P.A.)

Paul David Raschke (Nusinov Smith, LLP)

Honorable Cathy Hollenberg Serrette (Circuit Court for Prince George’s County)

Henry Mark Stichel (Gohn Hankey Stichel & Berlage LLP)

Honorable Sean Daniel Wallace  (Circuit Court for Prince George’s County)

Honorable Edward Gregory Wells (Circuit Court for Calvert County)

Honorable Pamela Janice White (Circuit Court for Baltimore County)

Martin Eugene Wolf  (Gordon, Wolf & Carney Chartered)

Phillip Robert Zuber (Sasscer, Clagett & Bucher)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: