Archive | Nominations RSS for this section

Biden to Nominate Virginia SG Heytens to Fourth Circuit

President Biden today announced his fifth round of judicial nominees, including Virginia Solicitor General Toby Heytens, his first nominee to the Fourth Circuit. The announcement states:

Read More…

Meet the Applicants for the Court of Appeals (Montgomery County)

Six applicants (two appellate judges, three trial judges, and one private practitioner) have applied for the Court of Appeals vacancy created by the upcoming retirement of Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera, who reaches mandatory retirement age this September. Applicants must be residents of Montgomery County.

The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission will meet on August 2, 2021, and forward nominees to Governor Larry Hogan.

Read More…

Congress Considers Creating New Federal Appellate Seats, and the Usual Political Arguments Emerge.

By John Grimm

The House Judiciary Committee recently held a hearing to consider creating additional federal judgeships, including the addition of new appellate-court seats.[1] The hearing revealed bipartisan concern that rising caseloads—and the growing backlogs they produce—threaten litigants’ access to the courthouse. At the appellate level, courts have grappled with increasing workloads by giving more power to staff attorneys to manage low-profile cases. Witnesses also cited curtailed oral arguments and a proliferation of unpublished decisions as casualties of appellate court overload.

Read More…

Judge Laura Ripken Appointed to Court of Special Appeals

Today, Governor Larry Hogan appointed Anne Arundel County Circuit Court Judge Laura Sue Ripken to the Court of Special Appeals. She was one of four nominees forwarded by the Appellate Courts Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Timothy Meredith.

Governor Hogan’s press release states:

Read More…

Four Nominated to fill Court of Special Appeals Vacancy

This afternoon, the Appellate Courts Judicial Nominating Commission interviewed the applicants seeking to fill the vacancy created by Judge Meredith’s retirement from the Court of Special Appeals. The Commission nominated these four:

Jeremy Mark McCoy (Assistant Attorney General, General Assembly Counsel)
William Edward Nolan (U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division)
Honorable Laura Sue Ripken (Anne Arundel County Circuit Court)
Edward Hutchinson Robbins, Jr. (Miles & Stockbridge)

The Commission’s Nominees Pool list is posted here. Our prior post, introducing all of the applicants for this vacancy, is here.

Introducing the Applicants for the Court of Special Appeals

Today was the deadline to submit applications to the Judicial Nominating Commission for the vacancy on the Court of Special Appeals created by the retirement of Judge Timothy Meredith. Applicants must be residents of Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, or St. Mary’s County. The Commission will interview the applicants on December 21, 2020, and submit a list of the nominees to the Governor.

The applicants include two trial court judges, seven attorneys, and one administrative law judge:

Read More…

Nine nominated for vacancy on Court of Special Appeals

On Wednesday, the Appellate Courts Judicial Nominating Commission nominated nine lawyers and judges for consideration by the Governor for the vacant at-large seat on the Court of Special Appeals: Read More…

Seventeen apply for At-Large Vacancy on the Court of Special Appeals

By Diane E. Feuerherd

This afternoon, the Administrative Office of the Courts released the list of seventeen applicants seeking to fill the open at-large seat on the Court of Special Appeals:

Honorable Krystal Quinn Alves, Circuit Court for Prince George’s County
Russell Paul Butler, Maryland Crime Victims’ Resource Center, Inc. in Upper Marlboro
Kurt James Fischer, Venable LLP in Towson
Rickey Nelson Jones, Law Offices of Rickey Nelson Jones in Baltimore
Steven Michael Klepper, Kramon & Graham in Baltimore
James Bradford McCullough, Lerch, Early & Brewer in Bethesda
Honorable Erik Howard Nyce, District Court of Maryland for Prince George’s County
Michael Patrick Redmond, Chief Solicitor of the Baltimore City Law Department
Eldridge Eugene Rice, Jr., from Randallstown
Steven Lee Tiedemann, Powell Recovery Center, Inc. in Baltimore
Tara Sky Woodward, Bradley Arant Boult & Cummings in Washington, D.C.
Terrence Mark Ranko Zic, Whiteford Taylor Preston in Rockville
**Honorable Judith Claibourne Ensor, Circuit Court for Baltimore County
**Honorable Lawrence Paul Fletcher-Hill, Circuit Court for Baltimore City
**Brian Scott Kleinbord, Office of the State’s Attorney for Montgomery County
**Rachel Theora McGuckian, Miles & Stockbridge in Rockville
**Phillip Robert Zuber, Sasscer Clagett & Bucher in Upper Marlboro

This vacancy was created by the recent retirement of Judge Alexander Wright, Jr. The list includes four trial judges and thirteen attorneys (including two Blog Editors, Steve Klepper and Brad McCullough, neither of whom participated in the preparation or publication of this post).  The last five, marked by a double asterisk (**), are pool candidates, having received the Appellate Courts Nominating Commission’s nomination for a prior At-Large Court of Special Appeals vacancy within the past two years; pool candidates receive automatic consideration by the Governor. The remaining applicants will be interviewed by the commission, on February 4 and 5, 2020.

Jonathan Biran Appointed to Court of Appeals

Today Governor Larry Hogan appointed Jonathan Biran to the Court of Appeals of Maryland. Biran will take the seat reserved for the Fifth Appellate Circuit (Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s Counties), replacing recently retired Judge Clayton Greene, Jr. This is the second time one of the blog’s original seven editors has been appointed to the state appellate courts.

Governor Hogan’s press release states: Read More…

Three Nominated for Court of Appeals Vacancy

On Tuesday, the Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission interviewed the applicants for the Court of Appeals seat vacated by the retirement of Judge Clayton Greene, Jr. That seat is designated for residents of the Fifth Appellate Judicial Circuit, which includes Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles & St. Mary’s Counties.

Yesterday, the Commission forwarded three nominees to the Governor:

Read More…