Ten apply for vacancy on Court of Appeals

Yesterday was the close date for applications for the Court of Appeals seat vacated by the retirement of Judge Clayton Greene, Jr. Applicants must be residents of the Fifth Appellate Judicial Circuit, which includes Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles & St. Mary’s Counties.

Ten lawyers and judges applied:

Jonathan Biran (Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC)
Russell Paul Butler
Rickey Nelson Jones
Honorable Timothy Elmer Meredith (Court of Special Appeals)
Michael Patrick Redmond (Baltimore City Law Department)
Honorable Laura Sue Ripken (Anne Arundel County Circuit Court)
Honorable Michael John Stamm (St. Mary’s County Circuit Court)
George Somerville Tolley, III (Dugan, Babij, Tolley, & Kohler, LLC)
Honorable Cathleen Marie Vitale (Anne Arundel County Circuit Court)
Tara Sky Woodward (Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP)

The Judicial Nominating Commission will interview the applicants on October 29, 2019, and thereafter forward nominees to Governor Hogan.

Jonathan Biran is a member of the blog’s editorial board and is not involved in the blog’s coverage of this vacancy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: